Completed: From Wilkie’s Shelter

FROM WILKIE'S SHELTER
FROM WILKIE’S SHELTER by Annie McLean Oil on Board [14x10cm]
Started yesterday at the monthly Drop In for Art session – finished this morning.  I say finished but quite often after a painting has sat for a few days before signing I make a last minute amendment or addition.  I may dull the ‘wee hoose’ down a tad when I come to sign the painting.

For this landscape I have used my own reference photograph taken during Sunday’s Day 1 (en plein air) of the 2-day workshop.  The palette of oils I have used for this one includes titanium white, cobalt blue, indian red, cadmium yellow, yellow ochre, burnt sienna, burnt umber.  The support is a board primed with gesso.  I’m hoping the oils will be dry enough for me to mount the piece in a week or so.  The size of this study is 14x10cm and I may decide to paint a larger version later in the year.

Wilkie’s Shelter is a red and white public shelter with seating.  There is a board close to it giving information about whose life it commemorates and why it was built.  I’ll have to come back and edit this post as I have very little time at present to give full details.  Briefly, for now, it sits on the top of Kirrie Hill behind the Peter Pan Playground.  The shelter is partitioned into four sections, two of which overlook the Angus Glens.  This view looks out towards Glen Clova.  Perhaps I ought to paint a view from each of the sections.  Another thought to put into the Project Folder.

And now to work …..

~A~

 

Leave a Reply

