Completed: On Tulloch Hill (study)

On Tulloch Hill
ON TULLOCH HILL by Annie McLean – Oil on board 10x8inch

This 10×8 inch painting started life as a study for a larger piece but I worked on and it has become a painting in its own right. Worked in oils, this was one of the four oils started recently.  It was inspired by last week’s EPA (en plein air) walk up to the Airlie monument on Tulloch Hill and beyond to look over the glens.  This particular scene was composed from a previous visit in September 2016 (own photo reference used) when the grasses were a bleached ochre, the heathers an aged mixture of sienna and umber, the sky showing a dramatic loss of summer.  I am still working on the EPA piece I started last Tuesday (7th March) and I hope I can capture just as much drama as I did with this completed one.

Oh it is so good to be back painting landscapes in oils!  Having said that, I am still committed to making this a year of abstract development.  Hopefully I can manage to continue to do both as well as running regular workshops.  At least I will never be bored.

A short blog today.  I have a very messy studio that needs tidying and clearing before the end of the day. I am heading off out this evening to a private view with a friend so have a tight timescale to clean up in, especially if I want to get a bit of painting done today.

May you all be happily busy,

~A~

Leave a Reply

